0 Items

The four noble truths

The four noble truths

The four noble truths are the Foundation of Buddhist philosophy and in fact marked the enlightenment of the Buddha. The tradition says that Buddha decided to pilgrimage through India in search of knowledge then that on leaving the Palace of his father, where it was sheltered from the decadent reality of the world, noted a sick person, a very old person and a dead: These experiences to be the seeds of a search that would end in the understanding that the world is essentially suffering.

After learning all the ascetic techniques of concentration and mental control that could be drawn from among the different sects of the Indian subcontinent, and without being satisfied, the Buddha decided to sit under the sacred fig tree (the Bodhi tree) and not to get up until you hear the cause of suffering.

The four noble truths are the substance of the Buddha's enlightenment, doing what today could be described as a domestic science, based on an impeccable self-observation.

In an act of deep introspection Buddha witnessed the Dharma in his own body: the internal experience of the law of the universe –of impermanence, the emptiness and the absence of an individual being fixed– produced a State of wisdom, It is the same integration to that law. One becomes what you know.

In this time of meditation and contemplation, Buddha found what later it became known as the Four noble truths:


1. The truth of suffering


The first truth is that “the birth, old age, disease, death, they are suffering; the union with what is unpleasant is suffering; the separation of what is pleasing is suffering; not to get what one wants is suffering; In brief the five aggregates (skandhas) subject to attachment are suffering“.


2. The truth of the origin of suffering


The second truth is that the origin of suffering is desire, “is the desire that recycles the existence, accompanied by pleasures and desires… wish the pleasure, wish the existence, wish the extermination lead to suffering“.


3. The truth of the cessation of desire


The third truth is that the cessation of suffering is the detachment, This desire to renunciation.


4. The truth of the path


The fourth truth is the eightfold path: the correct perspective, the correct intention, the right word, the correct action, the correct mode of subsistence, right effort, the proper care , the correct concentration.

To discover this with “wisdom, penetration and luminosity“, Buddha proclaimed that he had been freed and that who got this understanding in its entirety could also proclaim their lighting.

Tradition: the first noble truth, the truth of suffering, It should be understood; the second truth, the truth of the origin of suffering (or the desire or greed), It should be abandoned; the third truth, the truth of the cessation of suffering, must be performed; and the fourth truth, the truth of the path, It must be developed.


Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *